New
Old
Cast
Email me
Guestbook
Diaryland
budgie.diary

November 20, 2002 - a quarter past 7 pm

I�d just like to say that Depeche Mode must, at one point or another, guest star on Buffy and play one of the many, many songs that have fit perfectly with BtVS over the years. (Actually, maybe I should make a slideshow of screen caps and dub DM songs over it�ooo, cool idea.) I mean, geez: Behind the Wheel (for the Angelus/Spike slash shippers), Strangelove, Black Celebration, Master and Servant (again with A/S), In Your Room (for Dru), Sister of Night (Dru, again), The Dead of Night (oh my GOD that�s the best vampire song ever), and now this.

Anyway, here�s the latest. For those who watch the show, Spike and Buffy were at odds for years, and suddenly he found that he�d grown to hate her so much he ended up loving her. They had a quick fling last season when Buffy came back from Heaven in a masochistic mood (�I wanted to be punished. I wanted to hurt, like I thought I deserved.� � Conversations with Dead People, aired last week) and wanted sex with Spike to make her feel something, anything. When she realized that she wasn�t being fair to him, she broke up with him�but a broken-hearted vampire isn�t exactly the best material for a close friend.

So Spike went to the ends of the earth, fought an extremely powerful demon, and earned the thing that would make Buffy take him back � his soul. Too bad the return of his soul, like the return of Angel�s soul in season 3, has made him crazy with remorse for his bad deeds of past. The Big Bad for this season, an unnamable super duper evil, hasn�t helped with the sanity issue. Buffy now feels sorry for him, and like it or not, doesn�t hate him so much now that he has a soul. (That girl�such the sucker for tortured vampires.)

But I�ve digressed enough. Here�s the song that really, really speaks well for Spike (or, actually, for Buffy) at this point in the show.

�Goodnight Lovers� (from the album Exciter)

(Shhhhhhhhh)

Here
Somewhere in the heart of me
There is still a part of me
That cares

And I�ll
I�ll still take the best you�ve got
Even though I�m sure it�s not
The best for me

When you�re born a lover
You�re born to suffer
Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

I
I can see the danger signs
They only help to underline
Your beauty

I�m
Not looking for an easy ride
True happiness cannot be tried
So easily

When you�re born a lover
You�re born to suffer
Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

You can take your time
I�ll be waiting in line (in line)
You don�t even have to give me the time of day

When you�re born a lover
You�re born to suffer
Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

Like all soul sisters and soul brothers

Shhhhhhhhh





||previous|| - ||next||